Grandma’s Best Damn Cornbread Ever

I know most who make cornbread, have their own recipe.  But here is my grandmothers recipe, it’s never failed me in ease of cooking or taste, so I figured I’d share it with all of you.

CornBread Collage

Ingredients:

2 1/4 C Cornmeal (I use White Lilly Buttermilk Cornmeal)

2 Eggs ( the fresher the better)

1/2 C Butter ( 1 stick)

1 3/4 C Buttermilk*

2T Sugar

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place butter in cast iron skillet, place in oven, this will heat pan and melt butter as oven heats up.
  2. Mix all other ingredients together.  When butter is melted, add it to cornmeal mixture.  Be sure to leave some butter in pan, want enough to coat bottom and sides of pan. Mix butter well into other ingredients.
  3. Add mixture to pan, bake 30 minutes, or until golden brown.
  4. Remove from oven, allow to cool a bit, then take butter knife along edges and turn over on to plate, or serve out of skillet.

*Can use powdered buttermilk, but use milk instead of water.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.