Spatchcock Chicken with Lavender

I know that when you spatchcock a chicken, its typically grilled.  I had so much to do that I had to do the oven method.  And please don’t let the photo scare you, I didn’t set a timer and it overcooked, but didn’t affect the taste one bit.  My eldest son wanted chicken for his birthday, so this is what was cooked for him.  If you are fearful of cutting the chicken open, don’t be, I had to look up exactly how to do it. I found this great page to show you step by step how to do it http://culinaryginger.com/how-to-butterfly-spatchcock-a-whole-chicken/ ,  and trust me, as long as you have great kitchen shears and a sharp knife its not hard at all.

image

Ingredients:

4-5 lb. Whole Chicken (I bought a roaster)

1/2 Lemon, sliced into about 4 thicker slices

Rub:

1/2 Lime Juiced

1 T Olive Oil

1 T Honey

1 T Butter, melted

1 T Sweet Tea or Orange Juice (I used the tea)

1 1/2 T Dried Lavender

1 1/2 tsp. Dried Thyme

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

-Mix all rub ingredients together in small bowl. Set aside.

-Cut chicken by removing backbone, then center breast bone, then flip over, press down until you hear a pop.  Look at link above for how to.

-Rub half rub on bottom of bird, place onto deep side foil lined pan.  Rub the other half of rub on top.

-Cook 20 minutes at 400 degrees, place lemon slices under bird, bake an additional 20-30 minutes (and don’t be like me and forget, lol), or until breast reads 150 degrees on a meat thermometer.

-Remove from oven, and pan ( I place mine on a large cutting board), cover with foil and allow to rest 15 minutes prior to cutting and serving.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

