Refrigerator Cucumbers

My grandmother used to make these every year.  I must admit I’m not a fan, but my husband can eat his weight in them.  So I tweaked my grandmother’s recipe to make it my own.  And this jar never last long, so if your a cucumber fan and love pickles, give this recipe a try.

image

Ingredients:

3 Medium Cucumbers (too large and they have seeds that are larger than I like), sliced thin

1 Medium Yellow Onion, sliced thin

3/4 tsp. Turmeric, divided

3/4 tsp. Mustard Seed, divided

1 C Water

Sauce:

4 C Vinegar

1/2 C Sugar

2 T Salt

Directions:

-Bring sauce to boil, stir often until salt and sugar dissolve.  Remove from heat, and allow to cool.  You don’t want a hot sauce, or it will cook the onion and cucumber.

-In a large bowl, jar, or other closable container.

-Add 1/3 cucumbers, 1/3 onion, 1/4 tsp. Mustard seed, 1/4 tsp. turmeric.  Do this two more times, I find that layering helps.  Pour sauce over mixture and you may need to add up to 1 C water to cover mixture.

-Place in fridge and stir every day, I shake mine, for 5 days.  My husband says three days are they are good to start eating.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

