Southern Style Sandwich Coleslaw

Where I live, you never go to a cookout or BBQ or even most family meals without coleslaw. I have made numerous ones throughout the years, but this is my go to coleslaw every time I make pulled pork, or even chicken sandwiches.  This is an amazing compliment to any meal though.  My husband eats this stuff by the spoonful, though I must admit I have never tasted it.  I am not a fan of mayonnaise, but considering I never have any leftover, I must think its safe to assume this stuff is out of this world.

Coleslaw

Ingredients:

1/2 Medium Head Cabbage, finely diced

1 Large Carrot, slivered

1/2 C Mayonnaise (I only use Duke’s)

1 T White Wine Vinegar

1 T Dill Pickle Juice, can use more vinegar

1/2T Dijon Mustard with Chardonnay (any Dijon will work)

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/2tsp. Pepper

1/4 tsp. Onion Powder

1/8 tsp. Celery Seed

Directions:

-Mix all ingredients together in bowl with lid.  Ensure everything is well blended.  Cover and allow to sit in fridge at least 2 hours before serving.  You don’t have to do this, but I find the flavors mesh better with sitting together awhile.

-Stir before serving. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

