Buttermilk Syrup

I have made this for years, but had never measured any of it but the baking soda, so now that I know just how much of each ingredient I use, I can share this with all of you.  I learned to make this many years ago, for I always have leftover buttermilk, so what better way to use it, than to make it sweet.  My kiddos love this syrup, so in my opinion its amazing.

image

Ingredients:

1 Stick Butter

1 C Buttermilk

1 C White Sugar

1/2 C Brown Sugar

2 T Karo Syrup

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1-2 tsp. Vanilla Flavoring (amount depends on personal taste)

Directions:

-Over medium low heat, melt butter, whisk in sugars, karo, and buttermilk.  Cook about 2 minutes, add in baking soda, continue to whisk for 1 minute.

-Remove from heat, stir in vanilla.  Allow syrup to cool a bit before serving.  Please note, that as it cools it will thicken.  Enjoy!

 

Store in fridge, in airtight container, good about 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

