Copycat Red Lobster’s Lobster Bisque

This is one of my favorite foods from Red Lobster, so after some trial and error I finally made one that’s so close its scary.  And don’t fret this recipe has a lot of ingredients and work to complete, but trust me it is worth the effort.

image

Ingredients:

4 Lobster Tails

4 C Water

2C White Wine

4 C Chicken Stock (use fish stock if you have it)

2 Carrots, diced

2 Stalks Celery, diced

1 Large Shallot, diced

2 Cloves Garlic, minced

1/2 C Salted Butter

1/3 C Cognac (Brandy is a good substitute)

4 Roma Tomatoes, peeled, deseeded, diced

1/4C Sherry

1 tsp. Paprika

1/2 tsp. Dried Thyme

1/4 tsp. Tarragon, fresh is best

3/4 tsp. Black Pepper

Cayenne Pepper to taste

Salt to taste

1/3 C Flour

1/2-3/4 C Heavy Cream (amount depends on thickness of soup)

Directions:

-In large stockpot over medium high heat, heat wine, water and broth.  Add in lobster tails, boil 8-10 minutes or until they turn pink and are no longer opaque.  Remove lobster from shells once cool and dice.

-Place lobster shells back in stock pot, simmer for 20 minutes.  Place liquid through mesh sieve.  Place liquid in refrigerator for later use.

-Melt butter in large pot over medium heat.  Add in shallot, celery, carrot and garlic.  Cook 3-4 minutes, pour in cognac and cook until alcohol cooks off.  Add in flour, stir well, and cook until its  creamy buttery looking.  Add in spices, sherry, tomatoes and stock from refrigerator.  Stir well to incorporate, low boil for 30 minutes uncovered, stirring often to ensure it doesn’t burn.

-Remove from heat and cool a bit, place in small amounts at a time to food processor and process until almost liquid smooth.  Do this until all in processed.  Bring back to heat, stir in heavy cream and lobster.

Serve warm and Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Copycat Red Lobster’s Lobster Bisque

  1. I’ve never had Lobster Bisque at Red Lobster, so I won’t comment on this recipe as a copycat, but this a great recipe. I made it pretty much as written, except I used two small lobster tails, and two 1 1/4 pound whole lobsters. The extra shell and claw meat helps add flavor. When it came time to puree in the blender, I added some claw meat too. I used my Vitamix blender, so the bisque was very smooth. I also used 5 canned whole peeled roma tomatoes, seeded, because that’s what I had on hand. I also used a very good cognac, and a decent sherry. The fresh Tarragon is a must, and I happened to still have some in my garden. Great recipe, and thanks for sharing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

