New Year’s Black Eyed Peas

Growing up, this was what we always ate on new years day.  Though we always had greens to go with it, for my good luck green I usually do a salad, since I’m not a fan of any of the normal greens.  But at least I know how to make a great pot of black eyed peas.  I have a 7 quart crockpot, so I have tons of space, but also I like mine more like a soup (to dip the cornbread in), if you want yours less liquid just add less broth.  This recipe is open for interpretation, you can add just about anything you wish to this recipe and it will still taste great.

image

Ingredients:

1 lb. Black Eyed Peas*

1 1/2-2 C Chopped Ham (I usually use leftovers from Christmas, can also use the ham bone if you wish)

1 1/2 C Diced Tomatoes, don’t drain (I usually use a can of rotel for the heat)

1 Yellow Onion, diced

1/2tsp. Dried Thyme

1 Clove Garlic, minced

1tsp. Dried Oregano

Salt and Pepper to taste (I don’t usually add much salt until its served, if you over salt its hard to get ease the saltiness)

3-4C Veggie Broth (can use chicken)

4C Chicken Broth (can use veggie broth)

Directions:

*Soak beans, I usually do this over night, drain and rinse then add to crockpot

-Add all ingredients to crockpot, cook low 8 hours.  I’ve never cooked on high, so I don’t know times.

Enjoy!  Great served with cornbread….just saying.

Leave a Reply

