Homemade Fish Sticks -Baked

As a kid fish sticks were a weekly event.  My children have not been so lucky, because I don’t like the prepackaged ones of my childhood.  So with some trial and error I finally found a recipe that I and my children loved.

image

Ingredients:

5 Cod Fillets, Cut in half to make strips (Can use halibut and more fillets if needed)

1 1/2 C Bread Crumbs (I used Panko)*

1/2 C Finely Ground Cornmeal

1/4 C Parmesan Cheese

2 Eggs

1 C Flour*

Salt and Pepper (I don’t measure so its literally to taste)

Directions:

-Mix bread crumbs, Cornmeal and cheese together in bowl, set aside.

-Place flour and salt and pepper in a separate bowl, mix together.

-Beat eggs in another bowl.

-Take each piece of fish and gently coat in flour, allow excess to fall off.  Then place in egg and coat.  Place egg coated fish stick in bread crumb mixture, ensure that they are all coated lightly.

-Place on parchment lined baking pan.

-Bake 450 degrees for 12-15 minutes, flipping over half way through cooking time, until golden brown and fish is done.  You will know they are fully cooked when the fish flakes apart, I generally test on to know.

Enjoy!

*To make gluten free use gluten free options on each of these.

Leave a Reply

