We Are A Fire Family

image
Canon watching the fire

Growing up, some of my best memories are of sitting near a fire.  It was a tradition that I thoroughly enjoyed as a child; it is one that I try to ensure my kiddos get to enjoy as well.  They love when we tell them to get their chairs and go by the burn pit.  My husband thinks I’m weird, since as a kid they always cooked hotdogs over the fire; in my family is was always marshmallows and s’mores.  At 2 and 4 my kids are starting to become experts at roasting marshmallows, even though they love when they catch on fire.

No matter how you look at it, food is food.  And typically with food comes memories.  These are the things I want my children to remember.  Plus I have found that the longer my “minions” stay outside, the easier bed time is….and as parents, we love easy bed time routines, but most of all (at least for my family) no matter what you, as long as you are making memories that’s all that counts.

image
~imageT-man’s first s’more of the year.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

