Taco Bell Fire Sauce ( my version)


image

Ingredients:

3 C Water

6oz. Tomato Paste

3T Jarred Jalapeño (chopped small)

3T Vinegar (white)

1tsp. Sugar

1tsp. Cayenne Pepper

1T Chili Powder

1T Dried Onion Flake

2tsp. Salt (I use sea salt, but not necessary)

dash Garlic Powder

1/4 tsp. Onion Powder

2 tsp. Cornstarch

Directions:

1.  Whisk water and tomato paste in saucepan until well blended and smooth.

  1. Add remaining ingredients and whisk until combined.  Heat over medium high heat until it boils.

  2. Cook about 3 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Once cooled store in airtight container (I use a quart size mason jar) and refrigerate.  Sauce will thicken slightly as it cools.

*Once my sauce has cooled, I place it in a food processor to better chop the jalapeño and onion flake.  This isn’t necessary but its a step that I like so that I don’t ever have any “chunks” in my sauce. Then I place it in the jar.

 

This recipe is the closest I have found to actual Fire Sauce.  No its not perfect but its close.  If you play with the recipe and yours turns up better, please let us know so we can better enhance our recipe.

Leave a Reply

